About Konkan (कोकण)

The Konkan is a section of the western coastline of India from Raigad to Mangalore. It is one of amongst favorite spots for tourists. Konkan Division is also one of six administrative sub-divisions of the state of Maharashtra, comprising its coastal districts.

Residents of Konkan and their descendants are called Konkanis. The Sanskrit term Konkanastha (कोंकणस्थ), means "Resident of Konkan". The precise definition of Konkan varies, but most include Maharashtra's districts of Raigad, Mumbai, Navi Mumbai, Thane, Ratnagiri and Sindhudurg, the state of Goa, and the Uttara Kannada, Udupi and South Kanara districts of Karnataka. This is actually logical since there are a lot of similarities in the food-habits (rice and fish), crops cultivated (rice, mangoes, cashews and jackfruit) and the physique (tall and well-built) of people dwelling in this area.


The Sahyadri Mountain range or the Western Ghats forms the eastern boundary of the Konkan, and the Arabian Sea marks the western boundary.

Mumbai Suburban
© 2007–2013 Androizen. All rights reserved.